Skip to main content
Asked a question 9 months ago

What is the Eligibility Criteria for IAS exam?

Where am I?

In CareerTyari you can ask and answer questions and share your experience with others!


  • Candidate must be a citizen of India 
  • Candidate must be a citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan 
  • Candidate must be a Tibetan Refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, to be settled permanently in India 
  • Candidate must be a person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire, or Zambia with an intention of permanently settling in India 

Educational Qualification: 

  • Candidate applying for the Civil Services 2020 exam is required to fulfil the following criteria: 
  • Candidate must hold a Bachelor's Degree from any of the recognized universities 
  • Candidates who have appeared for the qualifying examination and are awaiting results or those who are yet to appear for the qualifying examination are also eligible for the Preliminary Examination. Such candidates have to produce proof of passing the said examination along with the application for the Main Examination 
  • Candidates with professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government or its equivalent are also eligible to apply 
  • Candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but are yet to complete the internship can also appear for the Main Examination. However, they must submit a certificate from the concerned University that they have passed the final professional medical examination 

Age Limit : 

A candidate should be a minimum of 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on August 01, 2020. But he/she must have been born not earlier than August 02, 1988 and not later than August 01, 1999. Necessary action will take to make corresponding changes in respective Rules/Regulations pertaining to various services. 

The upper age limit prescribed above is relaxable for the following candidates: 

  • 5 Years - Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) 
  • 3 Years - Other Backward Classes (OBC) 
  • 3 Years - Defence Services personnel 
  • 5 Years - ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on August 01, 2020. 
  • 5 Years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs 
  • 10 Years - Blind, deaf-mute, and orthopedically handicapped persons 
  • 5 Years -  In the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Service as on 1st August 2019 and whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defence issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and that they will be released on three months’ notice on the selection from the date of receipt of an offer of appointment 

The number of attempts: 

  • Restriction on the maximum number of attempts is effective since 1984: 
  • For General Candidates: 6 attempts (Up to 32 Years) 
  • Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST): No Limits (Up to 37 Years) 
  • Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts (Up to 35 Years) 
  • Physically handicapped- 9 attempts for general and OBC, while unlimited for SC/ST